Skip to content

The dress is revealed!

January 21, 2009

I just watched the inaugural ball and then furiously googled until I found out the designer of Michelle Obama’s beautiful dress. The dress was a beautiful ivory silk and chiffon gown made by Jason Wu. I was pulling for her to wear something in purple or red. This dress was beautiful though. Apparently she had a few other choices and did not make her final dress selection until the final hours. Thank you for not wearing the Betsy Johnson design, Mrs. Obama.

Obamas and Beyonce

Mr. Obama looked fabulous and handsome as usual. I love his white (J.Crew!) bow tie.

And Beyonce sang and it was good. Then she cried.

After finding out Jason Wu was the designer behind the dress, I went to his website. There were so many great pieces for spring.

Here is my favorite–I love the color and the tiers.

Jason Wu Spring 2009 RTW

Jason Wu Spring 2009 RTW

Michelle’s day dress was made by Cuban born designer, Isabel Toledo. It’s a beautiful wool dress in a canary yellow color. She looked great in it.  Isabel Toledo found out in the last minutes her dress would be picked according to The New York Times. Apparently she also has no PR person for her company. I’m available, Isabel. Call me.

Isabel Toledo dress

Isabel Toledo dress

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

