Skip to content

Designer shoe high

February 15, 2009

Yesterday I bought Proenza Schouler heels 90% off at gh2, a designer consignment store near Central and Hennepin in Minneapolis. They were regularly $550. I bought them for $50. Did I really just get Prada and Proenza in the same week? Life is good.

The northeast designer consignment store has this sale twice a year. This was my first time attending and I plan to go back. The sale was good, but a little picked over because I got there late. There were so many people there too. When I arrived at the store it was very crowded and I couldn’t move around easily. I knew I had to lose some layers so I could adequately cover all the ground. I left my purse and coat on the floor of the store to fend for themselves while I raced around frantically all the while clutching the Proenza shoes I had found like they were my child.

I received a few tips on how to approach this sale next time it happens and acquired some of my own:

  1.  Arrive early. The store opens at 10:00am and there was a line waiting for the shop to open an hour before. The time to arrive to be the first in the store is about 9:00am.
  2. Don’t bring a coat. It will only slow you down.
  3. Carry your money in your pocket. Your purse will also slow you down.
  4. Wear shoes and clothes that you can slip in and out of quickly and easily. A cardigan, skirt or pants, and flats will work well.
  5. Be ready to think under pressure and make quick decisions.
  6.  Just remember: every woman for themselves. That being said, it will not hurt to bring a close friend who is not the same size as you. That way you can cover double ground in no time if both of you are not only looking for yourselves, but for each other as well.

Proenza and Prada are going to be great friends, I just know it. I think I’m on some sort of shoe high…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. greentogrey permalink
    February 15, 2009 6:00 am

    you are so funny. sad i missed the excursion. although i’d just have to look, not buy.

  2. alexandraandthecity permalink
    February 15, 2009 5:20 pm

    i cannot wait for the sale this summer! now that we are seasoned professionals…

Leave a Reply

