Skip to content

A look back at the dress category from the 2008 Oscars.

February 23, 2009

In honor of yesterday’s 81st annual Oscar festivities I thought I would take a moment to look back a year at what was really important. For me, the real excitement of the night does not lie in the category of all the talented directors or actors, but instead lies in the dress category (and no, I’m definitely not talking about Diablo Cody’s ensemble; however, Diablo, Juno was great! Go Minnesota!). I thought I would take a moment to display two of my favorite gowns from the 2008 Oscars.

handbag.com
handbag.com

 Marion Cotillard is probably the only one who can wear this Jean Paul Gaultier dress and actually look great in it. I love the shape and the scallops of this dress. It takes a bold person to pull this mermaid-like dress off, and Marion Cotillard did it with grace. This dress (and her acting talents) worked in her favor when she landed a campaign with Chanel and Dior following the 2008 Oscars.

Zimbio

Zimbio

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Amy Adams wore this forest green Proenza Schouler (everyone knows I have been obsessed with these two designers lately) dress at the 2008 Oscars. This is a dress from last year that continues to stand out in my mind. Being a redhead myself, I love to see what works for others with my hair color. The forest green was an easy color for a fair skinned redhead to choose, but it looks fabulous on her. Please take a moment to notice Amy Adams’ gold bag as well. Although this was one of the most pointless and worthless bags in history, (she had nothing in it) it still looked fabulous beside the forest green Proenza Schouler gown.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

