Skip to content

Last Year St. Patricks Day.

March 17, 2009

Despite the weather, I can’t help but feel a little gloomy about St. Patricks Day this year in thinking about how I spent it last year.

This time last year, I was celebrating the joyous holiday in Rome. I spent the day traveling from pub to pub, meeting any Irish people I could in a sea of Italians and American tourists. An Irish pub in Italy is somewhat of an oxymoron, but I found quite a few fun ones. My favorites were Abbey Theatre in Piazza Navona and Scholars Lounge for the fun atmosphere, music and extensive amount of beers on tap.

I met one fun Irish couple that night while I was out to dinner. We ended up talking, (a great deal of which was about a common love of both of ours–cheese), exchanging e-mails and having a beer together. They started a magazine in Ireland and upon hearing that I was a journalism student, they offered me the opportunity to come work for the magazine. Does that offer still stand? I can be there tomorrow.

Three weeks after meeting this couple, I received a block of Cashel Blue cheese in the mail from them. (At dinner they told me this specific kind was their favorite and I needed to try it). I met so many fun people on that trip. I wish I was back there now celebrating the holiday.

Here’s to hoping for another fun St. Patrick’s day

Sláinte

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 19, 2009 1:02 am

    Interesting blog, I’ll try and spread the word.

Leave a Reply

